Continuing Authorities Program (CAP)

The Continuing Authorities Program (CAP) authorizes USACE to plan, design and construct small scale projects under existing program authority from Congress. Local governments and agencies seeking assistance may request USACE to investigate potential water resource issues that may fit a particular authority. A CAP project is conducted in two phases: a feasibility phase and a design and implementation phase. Both phases of a CAP project are cost-shared between the federal government and the non-federal sponsor. Certain territories of the United States (including Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands) as well as Tribal organizations, are eligible for a reduction of the CAP Program non-federal cost-sharing requirement (based on the Water Resources Reform Development Acts of 2014 and 2016, applicable CAP projects with feasibility phase agreements or construction contracts executed on or after June 10, 2014, are eligible for waivers up to $455,000).

Section 14 Emergency Streambank Protection
Section 103 Hurricane and Storm Damage Reduction
Section 107 Small Navigation Improvements
Section 111 Shoreline Damage Attributable to a Federal Navigation Project
Section 204 Beneficial Use of Dredged Material
Section 205 Flood Damage Reduction
Section 206 Aquatic Ecosystem Restoration
Section 1135 Project Modifications